Who We Are‎ > ‎

History of Central Christian

History of Central Christian Church, Fairmont, WV


Central Christian Church of Fairmont was organized in 1893, one year after the West Fairmont section of Locust Avenue was incorporated.  Members living in the community, who had been attending various Christian Churches in Palatine, Barrackville, and Worthington, began the church.

The first house of worship was a frame building on Church Street.  In that building, on Sunday October 15, 1893, the congregation was formally organized with 28 charter members, calling itself the West Fairmont Church of Christ.

In 1899, West Fairmont, Palatine, and Fairmont were merged into the single city of Fairmont.  At this point, the congregation searched for a central location in the new city.  A lot was obtained at the corner of Second Street and Walnut Avenue and a brick building was constructed, completed in the fall of 1901.  At the dedication services for this building, the name of the church was changed to Central Christian Church of Fairmont.

During these years, Central Christian had a vibrant and growing ministry in Fairmont.  Numerous people were baptized into the Christian faith and the membership of Central Christian grew significantly.

As time passed and changes took place as Fairmont grew, the congregation planned for a new church building.  The once-residential neighborhood surrounding the church was replaced by commercial development.  In addition, the church building faced many structural problems and a lack of available parking.  The decision was made to build a new house of worship in a different location.

In 1977, the present sanctuary was dedicated on Big Tree Drive.  From this new location in the Watson neighborhood, Central Christian has continued its ministry, seeking always to expand its influence.  Toward this goal, a new multi-purpose facility was added onto the church building in 2000.